googlea57ec952780bc208 Devising Clown for Performance

Devising Clown for Performance

Every Thursday at London Clown School

Online Devising Clown for Performance

There will be two separate groups:

 

Group A (every Thursday):

30th April-4th June 2020

Time: 19.00 – 20.00 (UTC+1)

(Berlin/Madrid 20:00, Moscow 21:00, New York/Montreal 14:00, Vancouver/Los Angeles 11:00)

 

Group B (every Tuesday): 

5th May-9th June 2020

Time: 10.00 – 11.00 (UTC+1)

(Berlin/Madrid 11:00, Moscow 12:00, New Delhi 14:30, Beijing/Perth 17:00, Tokyo 18:00, Sydney 19:00, Wellington 21:00)

Group C (every Monday):

4th May-8th June 2020

Time: 19.00 – 20.00 (UTC+1)

(Berlin/Madrid 20:00, Moscow 21:00, New York/Montreal 14:00, Vancouver/Los Angeles 11:00)

Venue: Online (Zoom)

Cost: 

£10 (1 class)

£30 (4 classes)

£40 (6 classes)

To enrol, please email: info@jondavison.net 

Payments in advance are valid for the term.

Maximum no. of participants per group: 16 

In this series of weekly classes I am aiming to do online most of what we normally do in a clown devising class.

 

That means specific tasks and exercises which generate ideas and material appropriate for clown performance. I set you all the task, you come up with examples, we watch them, then you get feedback from me and others in the class too. Simple!

 

The tasks and exercises are all methods I have used for some time in teaching clown devising, which not only generate loads of ideas for you to use, but also teach the principles behind clown performance and will serve you well in your own creative work.

 

This will mean more individual than pair or group work (unless you’re attending with a co-isolating friend in the same space as you), but you will be able to see participants’ responses on video, audio and text chat.

(At a later stage we may also have time to look at previously created or performed ideas and have guided feedback along the principles we are studying.)

 

The class is aimed at anyone who wants to develop their clown ideas, at whichever stage of development you are at. So do sign up, whether you’re a would-be clown, a clown-in-training, a professional performer, a comedy writer, or just really curious to learn about how clowning gets created.

On clown devising ...

 

There are countless practical ways of devising material appropriate for your clowning. Awareness of and understanding of these is far preferable to just hoping the clown you ‘found’ will survive the real stage situation. These forms and structures of clown material also derive from simple notions of what clowns actually do.

 

Something else is required. Other kinds of comic performers habitually spend a lot of time and effort on ‘material’. Stand-up comedians worry over joke structure, sketch comedians search for strong premises for their ideas. Why should clowns be different? Popular misconceptions suppose that clowns just get up there and are funny just by being true to their inner selves. But looking inside yourself won’t really save you.

 

Personally, I especially love working on material which has flopped miserably when first shared with an audience. There is always a way out and I love finding the key to that door!

Payments 

Please send an email to info@jondavison.net and I will send you details of how to pay.

 

Cancellations

 

I do not refund payments made (either whole or part payments) but I can offer you the chance to use your payment towards a course or workshop at a later date within one year of the original courser. This can only be done once and must be requested at least 48 hours before the start of a course or workshop. If you cancel within 24 hours or do not turn up without notification then you should pay any outstanding fee.

 

This policy is to protect the viability of courses, whose costs and numbers of participants need to be confirmed in advance.

 

I try to keep all prices as low as possible (I haven’t forgotten how difficult it can be to be a student). That’s why there is a single price, with no discounts or concessionary rates.